Reinventing myself…maybe

So I’m thinking that, after this last Brethren book, and with the exception of my upcoming Netherworlde trilogy, I might transition to writing YA. Yeah, I know everyone and their grandmother writes YA anymore, but to be honest, the genre has appealed to me for a long time. 

I’m also tired of writing what feel, to me, like explicit sex scenes. I’m not a prude or anything and I definitely like heat in my romances, but to be honest, it’s hard to come up with new ways to describe sexually explicit actions. And body parts. And, frankly, new ways to introduce these parts to each other. In the past, I toyed with the idea of writing erotica because I have friends who write it — and write it really well, but ultimately, I decided I’m just not very gifted in that area.  Hell, it cracks me up to read reviews of my books where the reviewer says my love scenes are tame, because I feel like I did my best to write the damn things hot!

And while I know there’s sex in some YA books, it’s more along the heat level I’m comfortable writing.  I also feel like it progresses at a more natural pace than in adult-centered romance, where I admit, I sometimes feel the need to add in another love scene, just to keep the heat up.
Plus as my kids get older, approaching their teen years, I find myself wanting to feel prepared to handle it. I need to remember what it feels like; I need to immerse myself in this strange world they’re about to enter so I can better help them navigate through it.  I can’t physically become a teen again but I can write from the viewpoint of teen characters. Hopefully that will help a little. Or at least grant me the insight so I don’t kill them in the midst of some angst-ridden, hormone-fueled tantrum, LOL.

Nothing’s decided for sure, and I’m sure whatever I write will keep a paranormal edge — even if that genre is supposedly saturated, market wise, too. Almost everything I’ve ever written has had a dark side to it. But I’ve been writing paranormal romance for grown ups for almost 10 years now. As a once-habitual genre-hopper, that’s a hell of a long time.

Leave a Reply

